Home   |   Contact   
etobicoke old-timers hockey saints
etobicoke old-timers hockey royal lepage west realty
jock plus etobicoke oldtimers hockey
etobicoke old-timers hounds hockey club
etobicoke old-timers hockey weston
eo hockey button:
eo hockey button:
eo hockey button:
eo hockey button:

eoha logo The Etobicoke Old-Timers Hockey Association is a men's ice hockey league that was formed in 1982-83. All 8 teams play on Wednesday nights at Centennial Arena in Etobicoke between mid-September and mid-April. The league was formed to give teams a regular mid-week game between and in preparation for tournaments.

On its inception, all players in the league had a minimum age requirement of 35, which was the minimum age that you could "legally" participate in old-timers' hockey tournaments. Some years later it was decided to raise the minimum age 1 year every year to extend the playing careers of the older players. The minimum age is currently 43 and has not changed in quite some time because it is difficult to recruit players older than 42 to replace those players who for one reason or another decide not to continue playing.

Several players in the league have played Junior, Sr., University, College and Professional hockey. Others have just played recreational hockey all of their lives but everyone can skate well and it is very competitive, especially among the top teams.

Most players in the league are currently in their 50's and although the pace of the games has slowed down a bit, the passing skills, positional play and overall skill set of the more elite players is still at quite a high level.

Founding teams were Air Canada-Malton, Air Canada-Toronto, Continental Can, Echo Valley, Toronto Lakeshore, MacLean Hunter, Royal York and Weston. The first season (28 games, no playoffs) was played at Long Branch Arena.

The first league executive was President - Charlie Lennox of MacLean Hunter, Secretary Treasurer - Dave Brown of Toronto Lakeshore and Frank Bennett of Continental Can who updated and posted the league standings weekly. Subsequent Presidents were Dean MacKinnon of Chatters, Chuck Scriver of Weston and is currently Rick Sturino of Royal LePage West. Jeff Salomaa took over as Secretary-Treasurer when Toronto Lakeshore withdrew from the league. Frederick Coulas took over as Statistician in the 83-84 season and maintained the stats for 30 years.

Site Sponsors

royal lepage west realty group toronto rick sturino

suboch law logo andrew suboch lawyer

link telecom logo andrew king computer audio video phone system networking and cabling specialist

© 2012-2013-2014    Etobicoke Old-Timers Hockey Association    Contact Us
powered by: SSS Computer Consulting